UX Writer or Content Designer? Who am I?

Willian Magalhães
3 min readDec 16, 2022

--

This article is the second, out of four, that I will be writing. The ideas came up after having a one-on-one conversation with Torrey Podmajersky on December 2nd, 2022.

Two different names for the same job, it all depends on how your company works.

Let me explain.

If your company has a lot of UX Designers, you’re probably going to be hired as a UX Writer. But if your company has a lot of Product Designers, chances are you will be a Content Designer.

Don’t attempt to explain these names by saying:

UX Writers: “But I’m also a Designer, and I take part in all Design meetings and ceremonies at my company.”

Content Designers: “But I’m a UX designer, too. When I write, I kind of focus on the user experience of my product.”

Take it easy, everyone. We should also think about which one gets more searches in the country we are in. Why is that so? Well, that’s a way to get hired and be noticed by recruiters.

My LinkedIn profile lists both of these jobs: UX Writer and Content Designer. Why is that so?

A simple comparison on Google Trends shows me that, in Germany, both titles seem to get almost the same number of searches. Yet, the term “Content Designer” grew since the last time it was looked at.

If you want to know more about the areas, all you have to do is change the role name to the area name (Writer to Writing and Designer to Design).

Here are some of the results in my area:

The reason I list “UX Writer | Content Designer” on my LinkedIn is based on data. Just look at how split up Berlin is.

What is the end of this story?

Content Designers or UX Writers, at the end of the day, are thinkers. For us to write, we have to design, take part in strategic meetings, work across teams with Product, Marketing, and Stakeholders, be involved in UX Research phases, take part in User Testing, and a lot more.

Don’t let your work or your deliveries be limited by your title.

Don’t want to use either of these titles? Pick one from the poster below and be happy:

The A-Z of Writers in Tech Tiles — Source: https://uxwritinghub.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/The-A-to-Z-of-Writers-in-Tech-Titles.pdf

--

--

Willian Magalhães

Content Designer based in Berlin. Loves UX Writing, UX, Education and Technology. My hobbies are gaming and watching TV series. 🎮 📺